2021 South Australian Derby

TAB South Australian Derby Day is the middle peg in SA racing’s hat-trick of Group 1 Saturdays, to be held this year on Saturday, May 8.

The 2500m staying test for 3YOs is steeped in tradition, having first been run in 1860.

It has produced a long line of brilliant winners, many of whom have gone on to become big names in the sport. In recent times that includes Shiva’s Revenge, Count Chivas and Mummify. And of course Subzero took out the 1992 SA Derby before famously going on to win the Melbourne Cup. 2020 saw Russian Camelot take out the Derby, before claiming another G1 triumph in the Underwood, followed by placings in the Cox Plate and the Caulfield Cup.

Explosive Jack confirmed his status as the Derby King, taking out the #SADerby‚Äč in dominant fashion on Saturday.

Click here for a full list of SA Derby winners.