

The Festival State Sprint Series 2024

Heat	Date	Venue	Value	Race	Distance
Heat 1*	Friday 1 March 2024	Port Lincoln	\$30,000	Flying (Open)	1210m
Wild Card Heat-First 3 placegetters exempt from ballot in May 4 Final					
Heat 2	Saturday 16 March 2024	Morphettville Parks	\$50,000	F&M Rating 0-62	1000m
Heat 3	Saturday 16 March 2024	Morphettville Parks	\$50,000	C,G&E Rating 0-62	1000m
Heat 4	Friday 22 March 2024	Mount Gambier	\$30,000	Volcano Sprint	1200m
Heat 5	Saturday 23 March 2024	Morphettville	\$55,000	Benchmark 64	1200m
Heat 6	Wednesday 27 March 2024	Strathalbyn	\$25,000	Class 2	1200m
Heat 7	Saturday 30 March 2024	Oakbank	\$50,000	4YO&Up Rating 66	1050m
Heat 8	Sunday 31 March 2024	Penola	\$19,500	Benchmark 66	1100m
Heat 9	Saturday 6 April 2024	Morphettville Parks	\$55,000	Class 2	1000m
Heat 10	Saturday 13 April 2024	Morphettville	\$50,000	Rating 0-68	1200m
Heat 11	Saturday 20 April 2024	Morphettville Parks	\$55,000	Benchmark 72	1250m
Final	Saturday 4 May 2024	Morphettville	\$105,000	Benchmark 74	1200m

^{*}See Program for conditions of this race.

Conditions

Horses must compete in at least one heat to be eligible for the Final.

Programming of heats is subject to amendment.

Points for each race in the series

Points for each race in the Series will be allocated on the following basis:

First - 10 points Second - 5 points Third - 3 points Fourth - 2 points

All other starters - 1 point

In the event of a dead heat points will be divided.

Should any race in the Series be cancelled or abandoned for any reason after the declaration of acceptance all acceptors (not including scratchings, ballots or emergencies not gaining a run) will be allocated 1 point and will be deemed to have competed in a heat.

Owner's Bonus

A bonus of **\$5,000** will be awarded to the owner/owners of the horse accruing the highest number of points during the series.

If the point score is equal at the end of the Series a countback will take place. The horse with the most wins in the Series will be declared the winner. If still equal the horse with the most second placings will be declared the winner, failing that the horse with the most thirds will be declared the winner. Should the horses still remain tied the bonus will be split. For the purpose of the Bonus, the Series includes both the heats and the Final.

Ballot Conditions for the final of each series

- . Horses will be balloted in order of points accrued in the heats commencing with those horses with the least amount of points.
- Horses accruing the same total points shall be eliminated according to the provisions of LR 16.2
- Should any horse win two or more heats such horse shall be automatically exempt from the ballot for the Final.