## MEDIA RELEASE



THOROUGHBRED RACING SA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

THURSDAY 25<sup>th</sup> SEPTEMBER 2014

## **NEW DIRECTORS FOR THOROUGHBRED RACING SA**

Thoroughbred Racing SA has announced four appointments to the TRSA Board following a meeting of the Directors' Selection Panel.

There were four vacancies created by Directors retiring by rotation and three of those four Directors renominated.

Frances Nelson, Simon Ward and David Rasheed were all returned for a further term while Grant Harrison has been appointed for his first term.

"The decision was made following deliberations by the Directors' Selection Panel," said Nick Redin, Thoroughbred Racing SA Company Secretary.

"The appointments are effective from the TRSA Annual General Meeting on 30 October, and in the case of Grant Harrison as a new Board appointee, it will be subject to the normal Independent Gambling Authority approval."

The Directors' Selection Panel comprises Wayne Henson (Chairman, SARCC), Tony Newman (Chairman, SAJC) and independent Mark Hender.

**Grant Harrison** has significant experience in the racing industry, having worked at SA TAB for 26 years where he was most recently the organisation's General Manager since 2006. In his time at the SA TAB, he worked across multiple jurisdictions including wagering operations, property management, governance and government compliance. He was also integral in the development of the Independent Gambling Authority's Gambling Codes of Practice that apply to all race clubs. Grant is a past-President of Gymnastics Australia, having served as a Board Member for 12 years.

## Media enquiries:

Phil Martin, Michels Warren 0418 817 876