Skip to Content

Weir, Lindsay Park & Young Lead UBET Adelaide Cup Nominations

Darren Weir, Lindsay Park and Grant Young will all have a strong hand in this year’s UBET Adelaide Cup with multiple runners from each stable nominated for the Group 2 feature. 

Weir has a strong contingent of chances for the Cup with yesterday’s Group 3 Launceston Cup winner Bondeiger nominated along with fourth placegetter Andrea Mantegna. Last year’s favourite and third placegetter Master of Arts is also nominated along with Ormito who has run third in his last two starts at Listed level, last start winner Our Yangtzee and Poppiholla. 

The Lindsay Park stable will be led by last year’s Sandown Cup winner Fanatic. Since her win over 3200m at Sandown, Fanatic has had two runs back from a spell and is set to run in Saturday’s Listed Roy Higgins at Flemington. The Hayes & Dabernig stable have also nominated Al Haram, Dane Hussler, Raindrops on Roses and Rokda Kasba.

Murray Bridge based trainer Grant Young is leading the local chances with four nominations including Tunes who would be set to line up in his third Adelaide Cup with his best finish being a second placing in the 2016 edition. Exalted Lightning has come on leaps and bounds since joining the Young stable, with five wins and three second placings from eleven starts including his last start win in the Listed Birthday Cup. Other runners for Young include Dance of Heroes and Majestic Moment.

South Australia’s other strong chances will come from the Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas trained Pretty Punk who recently won the Group 3 Hobart Cup before running third in yesterday’s Group 3 Launceston Cup. Jim’s Journey is set to line up in his third Adelaide Cup and the Peter Blanch trained stayer has a fantastic record in the big race with a fourth and fifth placing in his two starts. John Hickmott has the other local hope in Flying Casino

Robbie Laing’s Double Bluff looks set to return in the hope of going one better after running second in last year’s edition. He has won his last two races including the Listed Torney Cup at Moonee Valley which has been a fantastic lead up race to the Adelaide Cup. Laing has also nominated Cuban Fighter who has never missed a place over 3000m in three starts. O’Lonera ran second in the Torney Cup and is also nominated for the big race. The Cindy Alderson gelding has been in fantastic form with two wins and two second placings from his last five runs.

The interesting nomination for the race is the New Zealand visitor Benzini. The James Bull trained stayer is a Group 2 winner and has placed at Group 1 level. He also finished sixth in the 2016 Hong Kong Vase, so he definitely has some class.

Like a Carousel is set to return for his fourth crack at the Adelaide Cup. His best result was a fourth placing in 2014 but has hit some good form recently winning the Listed Pakenham Cup in December for Ken Keys. 

Mick Kent's Diamond Grace will be another horse worth watching. The five-year-old mare has only had nine career starts for three wins and four placings. She beat Raindrops on Roses at Moonee Valley and ran third to Bondeiger in January. 

Saturday's Group 3 Lord Reims Stakes is the traditional final hit out before the UBET Adelaide Cup and nine of the ten in the field are nominated for next Monday's Cup.  

The final field for the UBET Adelaide Cup will be announced at 10am on Tuesday 6 March.   

 Nominations for the UBET Adelaide Cup 



Al Haram

David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig

Andrea Mantegna

Darren Weir


James Bull


Darren Weir


Matt Cumani

Cuban Fighter

Robbie Laing

Dance of Heroes

Grant Young

Dane Hussler

David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig

Diamond Grace

Mick Kent

Double Bluff

Robbie Laing

Etah James

Matt Cumani

Exalted Lightning

Grant Young


David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig

Flying Casino

John Hickmott

Jim’s Journey

Peter Blanch


Aaron Purcell

Like a Carousel

Ken Keys

Majestic Moment

Grant Young

Master of Arts

Darren Weir


Cindy Alderson


Darren Weir

Our Yangtzee

Darren Weir


Darren Weir

Pretty Punk

Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas

Raindrops on Roses

David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig

Roka Kasba

David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig

Tuff Bicke

Ken Keys


Grant Young


Post categories

TRSA - Racing TRSA - Homepage