Skip to Content

MEDIA RELEASE: Jamie Kah dominates SA Thoroughbred Racing’s big night

Jamie Kah dominated the 2018 South Australian Thoroughbred Racing Industry Awards held at Morphettville Saturday night (1 September), taking out a host of honours following another stellar season.

In a repeat of last year’s success, Jamie went back-to-back by winning the Glennon-Johnson Award for South Australian Metropolitan Jockey of the Year, the UBET South Australian Provincial and Country Jockey of the Year and South Australian Jockey of the Year.

This was capped with another John Letts Medal, her second in as many years and her fourth in total. The medal, which is the industry’s most prestigious honour, recognises excellence in riding and outstanding achievements at all race meetings throughout the season across the State.

Other notable winners at the event included Raquel Clark who won both the UBET SA Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year and the Leon Macdonald Award for South Australian Apprentice of the Year. Tony McEvoy was awarded the South Australian Metropolitan Trainer of the Year and the CS Hayes Award for the 2017/18 South Australian Trainer of the Year.

Hosted by race caller Terry McAuliffe and’s Adam McGrath, the event saw more than 400 guests gather to celebrate the achievements of the State’s top jockeys, horses, trainers, apprentices, owners and the media.

Other highlights of the night included:

  • The Festival Hire South Australian Champion Racehorse of the Year won by Viddora;
  • Kayla Crowther recognised as the Caitlin Forrest South Australian Provincial and Country Apprentice of the Year;
  • Grant Young as the UBET South Australian Provincial and Country Trainer of the Year; and
  • The Strathalbyn Racing Club won the Most Outstanding Achievement by a Club award.

Meanwhile, Clare Lindop added yet another accolade to her glittering trophy collection after being formally inducted into the South Australian Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame.

Lindop – who was the first Australian woman to ride in a Melbourne Cup, the first female winner of the Victoria Derby and one of the most accomplished female jockeys of all time – stepped back from racing earlier this year after a 23-year career that included four Group 1 wins, more than 50 black-type race victories, 22 country and metro cups and more than 1,400 winners in total.

“To have my name sitting alongside the legends of South Australian racing is truly an honour,” she said.

“I am extremely proud of my achievements and the fact that I am part of racing history. I want to thank everyone who helped and supported me throughout my career. If it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t be here.”

The evening also saw two other nominees inducted into the Hall of Fame including legendary owner and breeder Harry Perks, who bred more than 100 stakes winners, and racehorse Redelva which had major wins including the 1990 VRC Lightning Stakes, the 1991 MVRC William Reid Stakes and the SAJC Spring Stakes on three occasions (1988-90). 

 Media: Phil Martin, Michels Warren on 0418 817 876

Post categories

Racing SA - Media Release Racing SA - Latest News