Skip to Content

MEDIA RELEASE: New Director appointed to Thoroughbred Racing SA

Thoroughbred Racing SA has announced the appointment of Julie Ryan to the TRSA Board following a meeting of the Directors’ Selection Panel on Tuesday 4 September

Julie is currently the CEO of the Australian Liquor Stores Association and was previously the Global General Counsel and Company Secretary for Accolade Wines.

A director of the Winemakers Federation of Australia, Ms Ryan is also a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

She has been appointed to a three-year term, replacing Simon Ward.

TRSA Chair Frances Nelson paid tribute to Mr Ward, who had served on the Board since 2009 and as its Deputy Chair since 2010.

“Simon has acted as a legal advisor to the racing community continuously since 1980 on a wide range of matters,” she said.

“Most recently, he played a significant role on the committee overseeing the redrafting of the Australian Rules of Racing.   

“He has been an outstanding servant of TRSA and we would like to acknowledge formally the great contribution he has made.”

Grant Harrison was returned as a Director for a further three years. The new terms are effective from the TRSA Annual General Meeting on 25 October.

The Directors’ Selection Panel comprises Wayne Henson (Chairman Country Racing SA), Bodelle Francis (Chair of SAJC) and independent Mark Hender.

Post categories

Racing SA - Media Release Racing SA - Latest News